Who We Are

The Santa Cruz Mountains Bioregional Council is a nonprofit public benefit corporation comprising biologists and other natural resource professionals whose objective is to conserve native plant and animal biodiversity in the Santa Cruz Mountains Bioregion. A nine-member Board of Directors governs the Council.

Directors of the Bioregional Council are required to be familiar with native flora or fauna and have a working knowledge of scientific research techniques or science-based habitat management practices. Associate Directors assist the Directors and may chair Advisory Committees.

The Directors and Associate Directors serve as individuals. Individual affiliations are listed for information only and do not imply any endorsement of the Bioregional Council or its actions by the entities listed.

Directors Of the Santa Cruz Mountains Bioregional Council (SCMBC)

Betsy Herbert, President of the SCMBC Board and Board Member of Center for Farmworker Families

Steven Singer, Secretary/Treasurer of the SCMBC Board; Consulting Biologist, Steven Singer Environmental and Ecological Services, Santa Cruz

Portia Halbert, SCMBC Vice President; Senior Environmental Scientist, California State Parks Department

Fred McPherson, SCMBC Board Member; Biologist and Teacher, and Director Emeritus of the San Lorenzo Valley Water District

Jen Michelson, SCMBC Board member; Environmental Scientist with the San Lorenzo Valley Water District

Will Russell, SCMBC Board Member; Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies, San Jose State University

Jerry Smith, SCMBC Board Member; retired Associate Professor of Biology, San Jose State University

Georgia Stigall, Former Treasurer of the SCMBC Board; Landowner and Steward

Associate Directors

Toni Corelli, Consulting Botanist

Matt Freeman, Assistant General Manager, Santa Clara Valley Open Space Authority

Diane Renshaw, Consulting Ecologist